Nova Scotia MP Bernadette Jordan appointed Minister of Rural Economic Development

Montreal MP David Lametti is Canada’s new justice minister, taking over from Jody Wilson-Raybould, who has been moved to Veterans Affairs Canada in a cabinet shuffle Monday in Ottawa.

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau is shaking up his inner circle in what’s likely to be the last change before Canadians head to the polls later this year. 

CBC News is carrying live the swearing-in live ceremony that began 8:45 a.m. ET at the Governor General’s residence at Rideau Hall, as well as a news conference with Trudeau and new ministers.

Lametti, a former law professor at McGill University, had previously served as parliamentary secretary to Innovation Minister Navdeep Bains.

Indigenous Services Minister Jane Philpott has been chosen to fill the cabinet vacancy as president of the Treasury Board, and Veterans Affairs Minister Seamus O’Regan replaces Philpott.

Montreal MP David Lametti arrives for the Liberal government’s cabinet shuffle and swearing-in ceremony at Rideau Hall in Ottawa on Monday. Lametti is the new justice minister. (Adrian Wyld/Canadian Press)

The cabinet shuffle was prompted by the resignation of longtime MP Scott Brison, president of the Treasury Board.

He announced Thursday he wouldn’t be running for re-election this year so was stepping down now, leaving a Nova Scotia representation vacancy in cabinet.

Jody Wilson-Raybould has been moved from Justice Canada to Veterans Affairs in the shuffle. (Adrian Wyld/Canadian Press)

On Monday, Nova Scotia MP Bernadette Jordan was appointed minister of Rural Economic Development. 

According to a news release from the Prime Minister’s Office, Jordan will be tasked with developing a new rural development strategy to “spur economic growth and create good, middle-class jobs in rural Canada.” She will also work to bring high-speed internet to rural homes and businesses, and work with municipalities, provinces, territories and Indigenous partners to meet infrastructure needs of rural communities.

Several ministers were juggled just six months ago, as Trudeau expanded and shifted his cabinet ahead of the 2019 election year. 

July’s shuffle brought five new ministers to the table and added new files for seniors, intergovernmental affairs and border security.

Indigenous Services Minister Jane Philpott is the new president of the Treasury Board. (Adrian Wyld/Canadian Press)

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.